Seven Chakras and the importance of them

Seven Chakras and the importance of them. Gajola

If you’re looking for a brief description of what are chakras then listen up! In this post I share all 7 Chakras and the importance of them.

To make them easy for you, I’ve defined all 7 Chakras with simple words, so you’ll find the ones that may help you too!

7 chakras

The concept of “chakra” is not new, and we can trace its origins back to Hindu culture and to the practices of Hinduism.

It is for this reason that this concept has a strong link with the rituals and traditions that are an essential part of the Hindu religion, but the chakras also have a strong influence on Yoga.

And what about today?

Today, especially in the Western World, we define the seven chakras as representations of different aspects of our life.

We describe their function in various terms related to:

  • psychological
  • physical
  • energetic
  • spiritual

An overview on 7 chakras

According to yoga, the 7 chakras allow us to express all our physical abilities, achieve happiness and finally get to awaken our consciousness.

The 7 chakras are distributed from the lower part of the vertebral column, where the snake tangled energy, the kundalini, is located, up to the highest part of the head.

Energy flows through these channels with movements from bottom to top and vice versa, while it forms a spiral and turns like a wheel.

The 7 chakras are therefore energetic centers connected to different functions of our body and also of our psyche.

Below I will describe each of the chakras with some of their most used meanings and characteristics, as well as some psychological illnesses that could be caused by the bad development of each chakra.

  1. Root chakra
  2. Sacral chakra
  3. Solar Plexus chakra
  4. Heart chakra
  5. Throat chakra
  6. Third Eye chakra
  7. Crown chakra

The Root Chakra

The first chakra is called “root” and the color associated is the red.

This chakra’s role is to connect all of your energy with the Earth, which is called grounding.

That’s why it is located on the base of the spine, in the coccyx area and on the perineum muscle.

This energy center’s role is to give you everything you need to survive: financial and emotional security.

Do you ever feel anxious or stressed?

It’s normal, and it is related to our basic fear.

When your 1st chakra is balanced, you will feel a sense of accomplishment and peace when you think about things like money, safety and shelter.

You can energize your root chakra with reconnecting to the earth by physical exercise and sound sleep, gardening, working with clay such as pottery and sculpture.

The Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is called “sacral” and the color associated is orange.

This chakra’s role is to brings you creative energy to enjoy life.

It is located right below the belly button and extends to its center.

This energy center’s role is to enjoy the fruits of your labor including indulging in pleasurable activities like sex and good food.

Do you feel guilty for enjoying the good things?

Maybe is because of an addiction, obesity, or hormone imbalances.

You can energize your sacral chakra by asking yourself a simple question before each action you take.

Ask yourself, “Is what I am about to do good for me?”

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is called “solar plexus” and the color associated is yellow.

This chakra’s role is to gives you a sense of wisdom, decisiveness and personal power.

It is located in the center of the belly button and extends up to the breastbone or where your two sets of ribs connect in the center of your chest.

If your “Solar Plexus” Chakra is not balanced, you may suffer from digestive issues or even imbalances in your internal organs like the appendix, pancreas, liver and kidneys.

You can energize your third chakra by thinking of your talents and abilities, empowering the feeling of confidence and personal identity by creating your own personal affirmation.

The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is called “heart” and the color associated is green.

This chakra’s role is to feel love for others and love for yourself.

It is easy to understand where this chakra is: it is located right over your heart.

When you make irrational choices, when you have interpersonal relationship issues, you may find yourself always putting the needs of others before your own.

You can energize your fourth chakra by loving yourself.

Sometimes we put high standards for ourself, we build up our walls and defenses, and we prefer to love others instead of love ourself.

You can focus some love on yourself by doing little things for you:

  • Meditation
  • Taking a bath
  • Taking rewards

The Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is called “throat” and the color associated is blue.

This chakra’s role is to gives a voice to your personal truths.

It is located between your collar bone and lets you speak your truth with clarity.

Do you ever been called shy or quiet?

You may find yourself unable to express your emotions or struggling for words when you try to speak your truth.

You can energize your fifth chakra by simply practice expressing your emotions and truths, even when you’re alone.

Speak your truth!

The Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is called “Third Eye” and the color associated is indigo.

This chakra’s role is to opens up your mind to information beyond the material world and the 5 senses.

It is located between your eyebrows.

We live in a world that often invalidates intuitive development.

Because of this, we close off our Third Eyes and ignore our own psychic experiences.

Doing so can cause us to feel disconnected from spiritual experiences.

Energizing third eye is a beautiful thing, and it’s really what you are trying to achieve when you start on a path to spiritual development.

You can energize your sixth chakra with solitary meditation.

Listen to your spirit and recognize how that feels.

The Crown Chakra

The seventh and last chakra is called “crown” and the color associated is violet.

This chakra’s role is the most difficult to explain.

We’ll try to make it simple.

This chakra is what allows people to move beyond individual materialistic needs to connect with the universal whole.

It is located on the crown of the head and is associated with spirituality.

A deficiency in the crown chakra tends to cause subtle, systemic problems. These include:

  • Depression and mental fog
  • Chronic fatigue
  • Migraines and other chronic headaches
  • Greed and materialism

This is the only chakra that it can not be energized.

Instead of attempting to open up and active your crown chakra, focus on balancing the other 6 chakras.

Final conclusions

This is just a brief introduction about the concept of chakras.

There are many ways to balance them and we’ll go deepening with new posts for each of one, stay tuned!

Before you go, if you like chakra symbology, you can check our store and you’ll find beautiful chakra bracelets!

Don’t let them go, buy yours now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *